NEW BOOK ON ISRAELI WINE

August 26, 2015
By Israel Preker more »

The fourth edition of The Wine Route of Israel has been published. This coffee table book is a comprehensive overview of Israeli wine in full color and will be an excellent gift for the wine lover, the connoisseur or the person wishing to learn more about the Israeli wine scene.

The book includes:

  • A comprehensive history of Israeli wine from 3000 BCE to 2015
  • An explanation of wine culture in ancient times
  • The story of the Israel’s wine roots in the Old City of Jerusalem
  • Up to date statistics and information about the Israel wine industry
  • Explanation about the grape varieties, the wine regions and of kosher wine
  • Information about wineries, vineyards and wines
  • Details of how to experience and enjoy Israeli wines
  • Lists of wineries and wines to have received the best international recognition

The last edition was written nearly four years ago, and photos and text have been updated and revised to reflect all the changes since then.

The book was written by Eliezer Sacks, owner of Cordinata Publishing, who edited the section on the wineries and industry veteran, Adam Montefiore, who wrote most of the introductory essays.

Eliezer Sacks founded Cordinata twenty years ago to publish leisure and tourism books. These have included wine publications such as Shvill Ha’yayin in Hebrew, The Wine Map of Israel, Wines of Israel and The Wine Route of Israel, and also books on honey, olive oil and the Seven Blessed Species.

Adam Montefiore has spent 25 years in Israel, after being in the wine trade in England. He worked first for Golan Heights Winery, and then until now for Carmel Winery.  Since 2010, he has been the wine writer for the Jerusalem Post and also writes for the Jewish Chronicle and the website wines-israel.com. Apart from The Wine Route of Israel, he is co-author of Wines of Israel and a contributor to The New Book of Israeli Food, The Oxford Wine Companion by Jancis Robinson MW, Hugh Johnson’s Pocket Wine Book and Oz Clarke’s Pocket Wine A-Z.

Other contributors to The Wine Route of Israel include Dr. Arkadi Papikian, wine consultant and winemaker of Amphorae Winery, Professor Amos Hadas, author of the book The Vine & Wine, and Michal Dayagi-Mendels, chief curator of Archaeology at the Israel Museum. Apart from Montefiore, forewords are also written by Peter Stern, winemaking consultant from California and Dr. Peter Hallgarten from England, each of whom has played an important role in the Israeli wine revolution. The founder and initiator of this book was Yaron Goldfisher.

This book is dedicated to both wine critic Daniel Rogov, z”l, and wine personality Meni Peer, z”l, two people who gave so much to Israeli wine. Rogov wrote about wine and food firstly for the Jerusalem Post, and then for Haaretz. Meni Peer wrote about wine for Maariv. Both passed away far too soon.

I was pleased that the book recommends www.wines-israel.com  as “The main website on Israeli wine, founded and managed by Israel Preker. It carries regular interesting articles, up to date news and information about Israeli wine.”

The Wine Route of Israel is published by Cordinata and retails at NIS. 149. The books are available in Steimatzky and Tzomet Sefarim, the duty free shops at Ben Gurion Airport, and at the visitors centers and shops of wineries.

For readers of Wines-Israel, Cordinata are offering a special launch price of NIS 100 for Rosh Hashanah and Succot, inclusive of postage, to those resident in Israel. (Exclusive of postage to those resident overseas.)

Order from Tel. +972 (0)50 569 3777 or by email: cordi995@bezeqint.net

Israel Preker 

 

Tabor

Cover winebook_2015

One Response to NEW BOOK ON ISRAELI WINE

  1. Pingback: Holiday Wine Reads | Vino Voices

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *